CEDAW Committee Updates – Congratulations Natasha Stott Despoja AO

The NGO Women’s Rights and Gender Equality Network (Australia)  wishes to congratulate the incoming and re-elected CEDAW Committee Members.  We especially acknowledge the support given to Ms Natasha Stott Despoja AO. This is the first time since 1992 that Australia has had a member of the CEDAW Committee.

The Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.  The CEDAW Committee consists of 23 experts on women’s rights from around the world.

We acknowledge the outstanding support of candidates from the Asia Pacific Region,  Ms Bandana Rana (Nepal) and Ms Rosario G Manalo (Philippines) for their re-election to the  committee.  We   welcome incoming CEDAW members  Ms Natasha Stott-Despoja AO, (Australia)  and Ms Xia Jie (China).    APWW looks forward to working with you and other committee members as you progress through your office.

Bandana Rana
Rosario G Manalo
Natasha Stott-Despoja AO
Xia Jie







The CEDAW Committee Elections took place on on 9 Nov 2020.  The list of Membership of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, As of 1 January 2019 and up to 31 December 2021 can be found here.


Leave a Reply

© 2020 NGO Women's Right Caucus and developed by Pretentia. | login